Regional Arts Development Central West NSW

Writing NSW Varuna Fellowships


NOW CLOSED. Closes 19  September. Writing NSW Varuna Fellowships are awarded annually to writers who have a work of fiction, creative non-fiction, a play, or a suite of poems that is ready for the next stage of development.

Winners receive a week-long residency at  Varuna, the National Writer’s House, and a manuscript assessment from the participating publisher.  This year it is Giramondo Publishing.

In 2021, two fellowships are available, with one place reserved for a writer under the age of 30. Applicants must be Writing NSW members and be willing to commit to developing their work.

Previous recipients include Kaya Wilson, Winnie Dunn, Tanya Vavilova, Karina Young, Adele Dumont, Christopher McDonald, Irma Gold, Alex Chalwell, Mark Brandi, Jacqui Dent, Helen Thurloe, Lucie Stevens, Alison Thompson and Greg Woodland.

Entries for the  fellowship  are open, and close midnight AEST  Sunday 19 September.

Find more information and submit  here.