Regional Arts Development Central West NSW

Events

Welcome to our list of arts and cultural events happening in the NSW Central West gathered from artists, event producers, great local venues and groups across the region.
Submit your events here (more details about event contributions at the bottom of the page).
For maps and details of museums, galleries, artist studios, historic sites, Aboriginal experiences and sites, craft shops, handmade retail outlets or public art go to Culture Maps Central NSW.

JESS JENNINGS – Branded & The Power of Flour

The Victoria, Bathurst 3 Keppel St, Bathurst, NSW

Join BooksPlus at The Vic to launch two new books - Branded & The Power of Flour by Paul Ashton, John McCorquodale & Jess Jennings.
On Thursday 30th June, Jess Jennings will be facilitating a panel discussion with Paul and John to launch their fantastic new books. The panel will be happy to answer any questions from the milling crowd. After the event, stick around for dinner and a drink.

While the World Waits: In Conversation with Arts OutWest

Mudgee Arts Precinct Market St, Mudgee, NSW

Arts OutWest’s executive director Kylie Shead will introduce Arts OutWest, our services and program.
A panel including artist Christine McMillan, musicians Smith & Jones, Arts OutWest music industry officer Patrick Coomey and artist and curator Steven Cavanagh will discuss the exhibition and the music that inspired the show.
This will be followed by an informal meet-and-greet with some of the Arts OutWest staff.

FREE

ARTIST TALK: In Conversation with Anna-Wili Highfield

Mudgee Arts Precinct Market St, Mudgee, NSW

Visit Mudgee Arts Precinct on Saturday 2 July for an afternoon of creative exploration as curator Lizzy Galloway discusses the artistic practice and inspiration behind installation artist Anna-Wili Highfields exhibition 'Mating Dance.'

Monday History Talk: ‘Kate Kelly’ with Rebecca Wilson

Mudgee Library 64 Market St, Mudgee, NSW

Please join us at Mudgee Library for our next Monday History Talk with special guest Rebecca Wilson who will discuss her research and book on Kate Kelly, the daring sister of legendary bushranger Ned Kelly.

Dirt Town: An Evening with Hayley Scrivenor

Roth's Wine Bar, Mudgee Mudgee, NSW

Jane Harper calls Dirt Town ‘a heart-wrenching mystery’ and Anne Cleeves calls it ‘a stunning debut.’ Fans of Jane Harper, Chris Hammer and Garry Disher will love this stunning rural mystery. Hear from a new star of Australian crime writing, in conversation with Portia Lindsay.

Recurring

Mudgee Library Writing Circle

Mudgee Library 64 Market St, Mudgee, NSW

MUDGEE LIBRARY, MUDGEE. Each term the group will examine a different genre or style of writing, with opportunities to get and give valuable feedback – receive encouragement – and refine your writing process.

FREE

The Kate Kelly Collection

Parkes Library 25 Bogan Street, Parkes, NSW

The Kate Kelly Collection will be on display from Friday night 15 July. Rebecca Wilson will be doing an author talk as part of the opening event.

FREE

Stuart Lloyd Author Talk

Cowra Library 77 Darling Street, Cowra, NSW

Join us to discover this story when author Stuart Lloyd - 'the perfect storyteller' according to The Telegraph UK - speaks at Cowra Library.

Recurring

Monthly Poetry Night

The Book Nest, Mudgee 90 Church St, Mudgee, NSW

Monthly poetry night returns to The Book Nest Mudgee this Wednesday evening! On the fourth Wednesday of every month, the Cudgegong Poets led by Jorie Ryan gather to share in the love of poetry, enjoying a glass of wine while reading new work and hearing from our local community of writers.

BLAK DOUGLAS In Conversation

GANG GANG Gallery, Lithgow 206 Main Street, Lithgow, NSW

BLAK DOUGLAS - In Conversation with LIZZY MARSHALL
Blak Douglas wins the Archibald Prize for his portrait of artist Karla Dickens – the first time a portrait of an Aboriginal woman has been awarded the prize. He is the second Aboriginal artist to win the Archibald, following Vincent Namatjira’s landmark win in 2020.

 

The What’s On calendar covers arts and heritage events happening across the NSW Central West in the local government areas of Bathurst Region, Blayney, Cabonne, Cowra, Forbes, Lachlan, Lithgow, Mid-Western Region, Oberon, Orange, Parkes and Weddin.

Event listings are sourced or supplied from local venues and arts organisations. Many events listed here have been originally shared by the organisers on social media. Whilst all care is taken – and accuracy is our priority – we can take no responsibility for date changes or the content of contributed information. Contact the event organisers listed for more details or to book tickets.

The best way to include your event is to use our SUBMIT HERE form. These listings will be manually approved by the Arts OutWest team before publication.  Please allow a couple of days for listings to be published. If you have submitted an event and want to make changes just email us at artsoutwest@csu.edu.au

Event promotors are asked to only include their own original images / images that they have permission to use / copyright free stock images. For more information see our fact sheet on Using Images For Promoting Events.