Regional Arts Development Central West NSW

Mudgee Readers’ Mini Festival

Welcome to our list of arts and cultural events happening in the NSW Central West gathered from artists, event producers, great local venues and groups across the region.
It’s free to submit your local events. (Use the ‘Submit’ option under the ‘Whats On’ menu at the top of the page).
For maps and details of museums, galleries, artist studios, historic sites, Aboriginal experiences and sites, craft shops, handmade retail outlets or public art go to the Culture Maps Central NSW menu.
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Mudgee Readers’ Mini Festival

Fri 26 August - Sun 28 August

Friday 26 August

6pm
Book Launch: A Daisy in a Jar
The Book Nest Mudgee, free to attend
Join Jorie Ryan for a celebration of her latest poetry collection. Described as ‘a hopeful book,’ A Daisy in a Jar is Jorie’s fourth volume of poetry.

Saturday 27 August

10-11am
Homegrown Stories
Town Hall Theatre, included in ticket price
Writers from the Mudgee region share their work, talk about their creative practice and their writing, with host Kim Kelly.

12-1pm
Kate Kelly Meets The Rat Catcher
Town Hall Theatre, included in ticket price
Kim Kelly’s latest novel is the historical fable The Rat Catcher – the story of an Irish rat catcher in 1900s Sydney who falls in love with a girl, a rat, and all the books in the public library. Rebecca Wilson’s historical narrative Kate Kelly is the true story of Ned Kelly’s little sister. Kim and Rebecca talk research, writing, and basing their successful creative careers in the Central West. Hosted by Sharelle Fellows.

2-3pm
Book Launch: Much More Than Words
Town Hall Theatre, free to attend
Mudgee Valley Writers launch their new anthology Much More Than Words, with readings, and a display of submitted pieces of writing alongside accompanying photographs. Includes afternoon tea.

3-4pm
A Poetry Circle, hosted by Bob Campbell
Town Hall Theatre, free to attend
Writer and musician Bob Campbell presents an hour of poetry readings and recitals featuring five local poets.

5-6pm
Dirt Town: A Conversation with Hayley Scrivenor
Town Hall Theatre, included in ticket price
Join Hayley Scrivenor for a chat about her debut crime novel Dirt Town. Jane Harper calls Dirt Town ‘a heart-wrenching mystery’ and Anne Cleeves ‘a stunning debut.’ Fans of Jane Harper, Chris Hammer and Garry Disher will love this stunning rural mystery. Hear from a new star of Australian crime writing, in conversation with Portia Lindsay.

This session is sponsored by Robert Stein Winery and includes a glass of wine on arrival.

Sunday 28 August

11am-12pm
Swimming Home: Judy Cotton
Mudgee Arts Precinct, included in ticket price
Judy Cotton is an internationally recognised artist who has had 37 solo shows and shown work in the United States, Australia, the U. K., Japan, South Korea and China. Her work is in many collections including Metropolitan Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Australia, and Bathurst Regional Gallery. Her memoir Swimming Home is a vivid chronicle of her time in the Central West, South Korea, Japan and New York. It is also a striking look at twentieth century life in regional NSW. In conversation with Rebecca Wilson.

This MRF mini-festival is presented with support from Create NSW, Mid-Western Regional Libraries, Robert Stein Winery and The Book Nest Mudgee.

Other

Local government area
Mid-Western Region
Artforms
Literature
Source
Submitted by email

Venue

Mudgee
Mudgee, + Google Map

 

The What’s On calendar covers arts and heritage events happening across the NSW Central West in the local government areas of Bathurst Region, Blayney, Cabonne, Cowra, Forbes, Lachlan, Lithgow, Mid-Western Region, Oberon, Orange, Parkes and Weddin.

Event listings are sourced or supplied from local venues and arts organisations. Many events listed here have been originally shared by the organisers on social media. Whilst all care is taken – and accuracy is our priority – we can take no responsibility for date changes or the content of contributed information. Contact the event organisers listed for more details or to book tickets.

The best way to include your event is to use our SUBMIT HERE form (under the What’s On menu at the top of each page). These listings will be manually approved by the Arts OutWest team before publication.  Please allow a couple of days for listings to be published. If you have submitted an event and want to make changes just email us at artsoutwest@csu.edu.au

Event promotors are asked to only include their own original images / images that they have permission to use / copyright free stock images. For more information see our fact sheet on Using Images For Promoting Events (if you can’t see this link look under ‘Opportunities’ then ‘Resources’).