Scroll Top
Regional Arts Development Central West NSW

Calleen Art Award 2023 – Finalists Announced


The Cowra Regional Art Gallery is pleased to announce the finalists of the Calleen Art Award 2023 acquisitive national painting prize worth $25,000. The Calleen Art Award encourages originality, creativity and excellence in the visual arts.

The Calleen Art Award was founded in 1977 by Cowra Art Patron Mrs Patricia Fagan OAM and is made possible with the generous support of the Calleen Trust. The Calleen Art Award finalists’ exhibition at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery is a signature art event in the central west region of NSW.

This year the Gallery received 278 entries and 57 works have been selected as finalists by the selection panel of art professionals. The selected artworks consist of a diverse range of visually compelling, thoughtful and challenging paintings. The winning work will join the Calleen Collection housed at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery and visitors to the Calleen Art Award exhibition can vote
in the People’s Choice Award. This is announced at the end of the exhibition.

The opening night and announcement of the winner of the Calleen Art Award 2023 is on Saturday 7 October 2023 from 6pm and promises to be a memorable and enjoyable event. The Calleen Art Award 2023 judge is Kon Gouriotis OAM, Curator, Writer and Editor of Artist Profile magazine Exhibition dates: 8 October to 19 November 2023 at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery, 77 Darling
Street, Cowra. Open: Tues – Sat, 10am – 4pm and Sun 10am – 2pm. Admission free.


Susan Baird
Michael Bell
Charlie Bennell
Lee Bethel
Joe Blundell
Vicki Bosworth
Rhett Brewer
Kate Briscoe
Anthony Cahill
Spencer Calveley
Jane Canfield
Michelle Cawthorn
David Collins
Luke Cornish
Jessie Cunningham-Reid
Dagmar Cyrulla
Wendy Dawson
Chantel de Latour
Angie de Latour
Rachel Ellis
Jo Fernandez
Ashley Frost
Joanna Gambotto
Nick Glade-Wright
Kim Grivas
Melissa Guest
Marie Hagerty
Lizzie Hall
Geoff Harvey
Leigh Hewitt
Dellina Inkamala
Dominika Keller
James Lai
Hannah Lange
Natalie Lavelle
Naomi Lawler
Danny Lee
Rosie Lloyd-Giblet
Steve Lopes
Graham Lupp
Maria Mararr
Nicola Mason
Ahn Nguyen
Robyn Nolan
Penelope Oates
Jason Liman Olsen
Stephen Pleban
Georgina Pollard
Sarah Randall
Edgar Schilter
Peter Sharp
Gary Smith
D.R. Snook
Fiona Somerville
Brenda Stace Chat
Phil Went
Mingua Xiang